Shaped soft pelmets - price?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shaped soft pelmets - price?

Can anyone give me an idea of a reasonable price to charge for soft pelmets like the ones shown here, on my photobucket page? I've given up trying to add images to my posts (much to Philip's relief I'm sure, as he's always had to rescue his site from my chaos up to now).

The client wants these replicated in her new home. She doesn't move in until July so I have no idea of sizes until then. However, she wants a basic estimated cost for now and I'll quote properly later once I have the sizes. There's no stiffening at all, just two sided fabric shapes stitched to velcro and attached to a batten.

I usually estimate my plain flat pelmets at a cost per metre, but there's so much more involved in the construction of these that there's no way I'm doing it for that price. I've never done one before though, so would really appreciate any advice on time and cost anyone can give me. PM me if you'd prefer.

http://s208.photobucket.com/albums/bb21 ... elldesign/

Thank you!

Re: Shaped soft pelmets - price?

Nobody got any ideas at all? Hmmm.

Comment

I've never done one like this either. But calculate how long it will take to make each triangle, and then guess at the assembly time. It is a learning curve for you as well, so in theory it should be a win-win situation - either you get a good price, or you get to learn a new method!
      Kind regards
      Pen Harrison
      Colly Brook Fine Furnishings

Comment

Hi Bluebell,

Detailed instructions on how to make these are in Caroline Wrey - Curtain Style Book. I don't have the book, but I did borrow it from the library once. Basically the triangles are made like bunting, front and back right sides together then turn. Then they are stitched onto a binding which has Velcro attached. Quite simple. Obvious tip - some triangles will be neater than others, put any dodgy ones at the back! Her tip not mine!