Hello

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello

Hi, I have just joined this wonderful group. I am a married mum to 3 (no longer children) 21, 18 and 16. I have 2 dogs, a cat and 5 chickens and live in the Hertfordshire countryside.

I am just starting out having completed a curtain and blind making course. I found the forum whilst searching for tips!

I had wanted to set up a one stop business, but I am finding it very difficult to find fabric suppliers who don't insist on me spending hundreds of pounds on sample books. So I think I may have to get clients to provide their own fabrics and me provide the rest.

Any hints and tips would be gratefully received, great to meet you all!

Re: Hello

Hello Pinkgem - thanks for introducing yourself. Glad you found us.

Some of the workroom supply companies also have small fabric collections (eg. Jones Interiors) and Hallis supply iliv. You would need to open a trade account with them though. Other suppliers do ask that you commit to a certain number of books, but have a monthly payment scheme to spread the cost. Many forum members with accounts are happy to supply on an ad hoc basis if you post a request with fabric details.

You might find it best to build a bit of a customer base and get to know their general taste before committing to too many books as they can be expensive and you have to keep then somewhere! Also be sure you know about any local stores/discount fabric places nearby so that you don't invest in books to find that customers then just toddle off to Dunelm (or wherever.....) to place the order as it is cheaper than you can buy for.

There are already a few posts here about starting to supply fabrics, but perhaps you've already found them.
    Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment

Hi Pinkgem

I grew up in Hertfordshire - one of Englands hidden secrets. I grew up near Welwyn and my sister and brother are still in that neck of the woods.