design idea woes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• design idea woes

I went to a new clients on Sunday. Design brief was wanted the 'wow factor' but not really much more to go on than that. I'm not an interior designer, i have to admit i struggle quite a bit if they really dont have any idea what they want.
    I spent 3 hrs there, giving suggestions. most were recieved with the reply not enough wow....at the end i was quite pleased she seemed happy with what we had finished up with, swags, tails, dress curtains (see other post). she choose fabrics from me, gave me a deposit for the fabrics....job done......or so i thought........
    today she called me, she is worried that the swags ect will be too much?? over the top?Also she dosnt really want the pole to show??? a bit difficult with pole swags....or is it???
    i think she was needing reasurrance but i feel uncomfortable about trying to convince her that they wont, because if she goes ahead and when it is all done how about if she does feel they are too much, i will feel bad then, responsible.......i have tried to find pictures of the 3 awags on a pole, tails and curtains but have had no luck.
    Does anyone have one or two?
    Sorry, a few questions going on there......
    feeling a bit down now after feeling it had gone soooo well at the weekend.....
    Sharon

Re: design idea woes

there are a few pictures of pole swags on the M'Fay site http://www.mfay.com - also if you use Google images some interesting things pop up.

Have you looked at the M'Fay patterns that Pen @ Colly Brook stocks? There are some interesting variations on swags/valances and a lovely variation called the Parisian. Also Bistro swags that attach to the curtains themselves. http://www.collybrook.co.uk/acatalog..._patterns.html

Even if you/your client don't choose one of these they may help the decision that your original plan is the one they want to go for.........
    Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment