blackout lining

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• blackout lining

Just took delivery of fabric and blackout lining. The lining was folded for about 4 days and it's fairly creased. As I've never worked with blackout before I have a couple of questions:

Can I iron the b/o lining?
    Can I steam iron b/o lining?
    And if I can what side ?

I have it draped over the banister at the moment to see if that helps. Also am I right in saying I will only have a single hem (no turn under) ?

Awaiting reply before I start.
    Thanks Ursula

Re: blackout lining

Always try on a small edge piece....but.....I get my blackout from M&D and steam iron it on the side that does not have the velvety finish. You will never get a sharp crease in it but will be able to smooth out un-wanted crumpling. While you are ironing it, or moving it while still warm, be careful not to catch/pull it as it does go a bit stretchy until cool.

It does not fray like cotton lining so a single hem is adequate.
    Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment

Hi Ursula
      I use a use a steam iron on my blackout linings but make sure it is not too hot.
      I only do a single hem on blackout.

Try a test piece first and a trial hem to make sure you are happy with how it will look.
      Kindest Regards

Penny

Denton Drapes

Comment

Thanks Louise and Penny
        Ursula

Comment

Hi Ursula

I don't use a steam iron; I buy my blackout lining from Jones and never have to use more than a 'medium iron' on the fabric side ie the side on which you can see a weave. I use their bonded blackout lining too and that doesn't need more than a 'medium iron' either A single hem is just fine too!

Gilly

Comment

Thats Gilly,

The client had the lining folded tightly in a bag for 4 days ah............she bought it herself so no choice but to plow ahead.

Comment