Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do I need to do a curtain making course?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do I need to do a curtain making course?

I came across this message on another forum and it is me to a 't'...
    I have made curtains for myself and would like to start a small business offering a curtain making service, however as I have had no formal training I feel it is important that I complete a professional curtain making course.
    I am completely self taught to date where curtains are concerned, I did do some dress making courses but feel curtains are a much easier way to go on. Would someone mind holding my hand and advising me if a course is necessary? I've attached an image to show I am not a complete novice. (except at getting my image the right way up!!)

[attachment=0:28ft0jfd]swags2.jpg[/attachment:28ft0jfd]

Re: Do I need to do a curtain making course?

It looks to me like you have curtains and swags cracked!

I would suggest that unless you really fancy the idea of going on a course, you think carefully about if there are any specific areas you want to learn more about - is there anything you dread customers asking for? anything you struggle with that you feel 'there must be a better way'? Or perhaps something more business related like book keeping?

Last year I went on a one-day course to learn about dressing arched windows. It was lovely to be with a couple of other curtain makers, have a day away from home (where I work) and learn some new skills. Still haven't been asked to dress an arched window but I thoroughly understand the technique now.

Maybe you don't need a course right now, but would benefit from spending the money on something like an eyelet press or blind hemmer?

There are lots of course providers listed here if you fancy taking a look.
    Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment