How to use single sided fusible buckram in lined curtains

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to use single sided fusible buckram in lined curtains

Hi everyone, I’m a novice to soft furnishings and am attempting to make my own eyelet curtains to the point where I can send them away to a professional to insert metal eyelets. (I have four sets of large curtains to do and am working on the first pair of curtains.)

1. I have measured and cut the fusible buckram to length allowing for it to be doubled over at either end within the fabric return on each edge of the curtain. Which way do I double it back? Do I fold over the buckram so that the glued side is on the inside of the fold, ie face to face so that it won’t stick to the curtain fabric or should I fold back the buckram so that it sticks to the main fabric? Hope that makes sense.

2. Secondly, in what order do I fold and stick the main and lining fabric? Am I right on the following: Buckram inbetween the top of the main fabric and the lining with the Fusible side face up towards the lining. Fold over the main fabric over the top of the buckram by 6 cms. Iron. Then lay the lining over the remainder of the bare buckram and the main fabric. Iron. Hand Stitch the top of the lining that is sitting on top of the main fabric (ie isn’t glued down) near to the top of the curtain to finish off.

I’m using 5” buckram and have made up the steps above based on rough instructions I have gleaned elsewhere. Any guidance or improvement on the above much appreciated. I have found old links on this site to supposed instructions/photos, but these links are no longer working.

Thanks, Claire

Hi Claire - welcome to the forum. Sorry you've found some broken links, a while ago we moved the whole forum to a new server and unfortunately some of the older posts did not survive the migration intact.