fitted bed valance with box pleats at corners

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• fitted bed valance with box pleats at corners

Hi all I'm just starting out & have my first order for a fitted bed valance super king size. Can anyone recommend a good site on how to make the box pleats for the corners (the flapped ones). the sides will be straight with pleats at the corners, the platform will be in calico or lining fabric with 10cm borders of main fabric & lined. I'm unsure as to whether I should pipe it too. any advice much appreciated.
    many thanks
    Sadie

Re: fitted bed valance with box pleats at corners

This might help - I haven't watched it all the way through though......or I'm pretty sure the Merrick & Day Encyclopedia would have instructions......
    Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment

It is just a simple inverted box pleat that you create. You will need to have a pleat in the middle of each side and the end to hide the seams in. I would definitely pipe the edge of the platform.
      Kind regards
      Pen Harrison
      Colly Brook Fine Furnishings

Comment

I agree Louise, it's a lovely bed valance, but the presenter is so slow at talking I wouldn't be able to spare the time to watch till the end!
        Caroline

Comment

These posts might help too

bed valance with kick pleats
          bed valances
          Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment

Thank you all for your replies. Unfortunately the little clip hasn't downloaded. I'm after a more upholstered look like this:

http://www.theheadboardworkshop.co.u...valance.html#/

Sadie

Comment

That looks like a standard valance, with a border on the platform and kick pleats on the corners. It isn't piped on the platform seam, which I would prefer to do.
              Kind regards
              Pen Harrison
              Colly Brook Fine Furnishings

Comment

ok thank you

Comment