Dry Cleaning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dry Cleaning

Although I was trained in this businesss - many years ago. I am new to the making of Roman Blinds, and need your experience ..................

Firstly, is black out lining Dry Cleanable ? and are plastic cord rings Dry Cleanable ? p.s I'm was really excited to found the Forum - and just know you are going to be invaluable to me - thank you

Re: Dry Cleaning

Hi Jackie - glad you found us and posted.

Some blackout is stated as washable on a synthetic programme, and also dry cleanable - it would depend on which one you bought. The supplier should be able to confirm for you (or the catalogue listing if you have access to one from the supplier).

No idea about the plastic rings - it might be hard to establish, some are polycarbonate and others different plastics.

I would hesitate to dry clean or wash roman blinds in case the face fabric and lining reacted differently and distorted.
    Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment

thank you so much for all your advice Liouse - so in the norm Roman Blinds are not cleanable ?

Comment

I wouldn't encourage my customers to think they could remove rods etc. and get the blind cleaned in case the fabric/lining shrank/moved against each other. The layers of a curtain have some movement but a blind does not as it is stitched on all four sides and at the rod positions.

You do hear stories of curtains reacting badly to being cleaned too sometimes.
        Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment