Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First blind, can I just check I'm doing it right please?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First blind, can I just check I'm doing it right please?

Hi all.

Ok I'm just making my first roman blind and I've followed the instructions on here (thank you!) and I think I've got my measurements right however I'm not doing a heading board just velcro at the top.

My finished blind will be 117cm long. Now the velcro is 2cm but as the lining goes to the top of the velcro do I have to add this 2cm as an extra measurement.

My example is this 117 - 2cm = 115 divide by 7 = 16.4

So I then do the next three markings at 32.8 giving me a total of 114.8. To which I would add the 2cm for my total 117?

Or as its just velcro'd to the top of the batton, do I do my calculation of 117 and divide by 7 which is 16.7? There is only .3 of a difference so does it matter? Sorry I'm a complete newbie

Also i'm a little unsure as to how to add the 1cm pocket seam allowance. Do I just add 1cm on to every one of the four markings I make?

Thanks for any help.... i've been looking at the fabric for days and I'm scared to start in case I go wrong!

Re: First blind, can I just check I'm doing it right please?

Hi Shirl

Can you confirm the finished length including the headrail please, can you also let me know the size of the headrail, measure the deepest point please including the cord drop eyes.

Thank you and welcome back!

Philip
    Have you registered your business yet?

http://www.ukcurtainmakers.co.uk

A MyDecozo Directory

Comment

Hi Philip. Thank you. I've ticked to keep signed in this time... duh!