Hanging/fitting Roman Blinds

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hanging/fitting Roman Blinds

I'm a newbie to the site, and a bit nervous. I'm not a professional, but I have been making curtains and blinds for years and this question sounds stupid even as I'm writing it, .

I have made lined Roman Blinds for my kitchen, and would like some advice on fitting them. They are to fit inside the window but I don't really want to attach above the window as this is only plasterboard, and the windows are UPVC so I can't screw into them. I've made and fitted Romans before but never had a problem as I have just used the hook and eye method onto a batten in my daughter's student flat. I would really like these to look smarter and more tailored, but without damaging my house! Could anyone recommend a book I could buy, as I'm looking to refurbish several rooms? Thanks a lot for listening!
    I'd rather be sewing!

Re: Hanging/fitting Roman Blinds

How did you fix the battens to the wall/window in the past?

Comment

You can get fittings for both plasterboard and uPVC. Try B&Q (or any of the chains) for plasterboard screws.
      Kind regards
      Pen Harrison
      Colly Brook Fine Furnishings

Comment

Hello Rantalot..

Welcome to the forum, and please don't be nervous! You have two options for fitting your blinds, fabric covered batten or aluminium tracking - both require screws to fix them to eithe the wall, window frame, window recess or the ceiling. As already mentioned you can buy plaster board raw plugs to take the screws. M&D sell all the necessary components and you can their site is well worth a look around for most of your workroom needs.

[attachment=0:qaul7tc7]murtratrackuniversalbracket.jpg[/attachment:qaul7tc7]

Colly Brook Fine Furnishings also offer a huge range of workroom and soft furnishing supplies and are another site for you to have a good look around at.