How best to fix this mistake please?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How best to fix this mistake please?

Hello! I'm not a professional curtain maker (as you will see from what I'm about to write next) - and would be so grateful for advice on how to fix this....

For some mad reason, I decided a great lockdown project would be to make a wide Roman Blind for an upstairs bedroom in our own home - finished width 255 cm.

All was going well with cutting out, measuring extra-carefully. The main fabric was wide enough to use horizontally, but I needed to join the lining fabric.

I then decided it would be more professional to have the joins with two pieces at the side rather than in the middle - but in cutting out the second piece of lining, I didn't realise it was folded and sliced through the second piece underneath.

I salvaged enough of the wrongly-cut piece to have three uneven widths - it will be the bit facing the street in an upstairs bedroom, so no-one would notice the uneven widths, I hope.

BUT before I even put any seams in, these three pieces only come to the finished blind width - 255cm.

There's the central piece of 138 cm, another of 69 and the third of 48 cm - total 255 before they're joined. The finished drop is 130cm by the way - it's wide and not all that long.

Is it best to:

a) Make the seams as narrow as possible in the hope of getting to, say, 253cm width total for the lining - but if I do that, how do I make it up so the finished width of the completed blind is 255? (The track is 254)

or b) Somehow add a fourth piece of fabric to give me the extra cm on the finished width? I have a strip of 13cm wide lining fabric which is long enough to add on - but how best to position it?

or c) The option I don't really want to go for as I've spent a lot on the materials and postage already, but will do if your verdict is it will just not work/look dreadful without doing this - send for more lining fabric?

Thank you for any advice!