Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roman Blinds - Help required

Here's one for you lot.

When I make my roman blinds I stab stitch through all layers and I put my stitches through the blind on the stitch line underneath the rod pocket so no pin hole of light is visible when the sun shines against the blind.

I sew my stitches in situ with the blind hanging from the shelf which runs around my workroom. That way I can see that all the layers of fabric are hanging cleanly prior to the stitching. The time taken to apply these stitches can be disproportionately long.

I have been experimenting for a couple of years to try to come up with a method of attaching the layers of the blind together at the line of the rod pockets which does not involve stab stitching, a task which can be difficult on a wide blind when you are stitching in situ. My arms just aren't long enough sometimes and when this happens I pin in situ and sew on the bench.

I have experimented with double sided fusible tape and a variety of other methods but I can not find a way of reproducing these few critical stitches in any other way.

Does anyone have a better method Please ??????????

I do the same as you - hang the blind and stab sttch it. Like you say it can be very difficult at times.

Some Forum users manage to stab stitch using the zip foot on their maching and I have not tried this as yet.

I am sure someone will tell you about it - there are postings on the AW forum about it.
    K W Designs
    Bournemouth

Comment

Philip knows how.

Jules

Comment

The problem is Kathy that the stitch needs to be loose because on a blind interlined with 280grm domett the stitch indents.

stitching on a machine is out of the question as there can be no guarantee that the blind will hang out cleanly which is where most of the problems occur with blinds that look awful after a couple of years.