Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finishing Trim on Bottom of Roman Blind

Hello
    Can anyone please provide me with advice on how to add a pleated trim to the bottom of a Roman Blind? The fabric is Dupion silk and the trim at the bottom is to be in a contrasting shade. Im basically hoping I can replicate something I seen on display in Laura Ashley. Apologies if Ive not used the correct terminology - Im fairly new to all this (one roman blind under my belt)!

Regarding the lining for the blind - Im a bit confused about what I should do. I was planning just to use the normal lining material that I used with the previous blind (not silk). Is interlining something I should consider?

many thanks
    Betty

Re: Finishing Trim on Bottom of Roman Blind

HI Betty,
    Make up the pleated strip and machine it between the lining and fabric. (or you could use a facing of your fabric on the back as well). Use your ordinary lining - interlining is a different material that is used as well as lining, to give body to fabric.
    Kind regards
    Pen Harrison
    Colly Brook Fine Furnishings

Comment

I'd opt for using your normal lining but use interlining too on silk, its a must otherwise the blind looks like a puff of wind . I love the look of interlined silk blinds and compared to a non interlined, there really is no comparison.It givea beautiful lush feel to the blind, just be careful not to use one thats too thick~learnt that lesson the hard way It makes the folds a little too bulky.

Comment

I agree with [email protected] - sorry I missed that you are using silk, and I would always interline it as well.
        Kind regards
        Pen Harrison

Comment

Hi there
          Thank you both for your advice - hope you dont mind more questions!

Interlining - from the previous posts, is domette the best option as it will not be too bulky?