Rod pockets & tape..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rod pockets & tape..

Thank you for the welcome. I'm a newbie who has just registered with this fantastic site. The Gallery pics. are wonderful. What a talented lot of people!!

I've been sewing for 25yrs but have just started a small curtain and soft furnishing business working from home.

On looking 'thru the site I have realized how much I have to learn!!! In particular I have been searching for more info. on the make up of Roman Blinds. I have always made them with the tape method- i.e. sitching visible on the right side of fabric. On reading 'thru all the posts I now know this is the wrong method to use for a professional finished look. It seems the rods should be encased in pockets in the lining. I have seen lots made up by the tape method in show houses ect. but if there is a better looking finish then I would always want to aim for that.

Could anyone tell me ( or direct me to a site with video instruction ) on what is the proper way to make them up for regular folds or cascading??

P.S. Also is this the correct site to post a new topic?

Cat C.
    Kind regards

Cat

Re: Big hello to all newbies

Hi Cat - welcome.

I have sent you a private message about where to find instructions for roman blind making......
    Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment

Re: Rod pockets & tape..

Hi Cat C.

Welcome to the forum, I have moved this post to the roman blind section as you'll raise more comments and interest here.. You may find calculating rod pockets thread interesting.

Philip
      Have you registered your business yet?

http://www.ukcurtainmakers.co.uk

A MyDecozo Directory

Comment

Thank you Philip, I'm gateful for any help on this. Had some other replies already so that should set me on the right track!!

Catherine
        Kind regards

Cat

Comment