Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reefer/Swedish/Oriental blinds

Hi

I'm new to this and have had a look through the web site to try and find instructions on how to make roller blinds but the soft ones which roll up inwards using two contrasting fabrics with 2 rings at the top. I can't seem to find any instructions on how these work or how to make them anywhere. Does anyone have any instructions please? Much appreciated.

Re: Reefer/Swedish/Oriental blinds

Hello and welcome to the forum JOsborne!

The blind is a simple construction really, usually made with a contrasting lining that shows at the bottom roll of the blind. The blind needs to be made longer than the finished drop as you always want to see the roll at the bottom, but take into account the bulk.

Both back and front fabrics are cut to the same size, sewn together, bagged out and pressed. Use a length of wood at the bottom, maybe a broom handle to roll the bottom fabric around, I always staple the fabric to the broom handle / wooden weight and ensure all wrinkles are smoothed out - Alternatively you can sew in a channel to carry the wooden weight.

Attach the top with velcro as you would a roman blind. The picture below shows a blind with rings sewn at the top to carry the cording.

Use screw eyes at the back of the blind, screw into the batten to carry the cords.. As with romans blinds, ensure the cording and top fixings are lined up for smooth operation. The cords at the back are predominantly fixed as all movement happens at the front.

Recommended reading: Curtains, Cushions & Blinds by Merrick & Day

Hope this helps, if you need any further help just shout.

Philip

[attachment=1:1o1sxtqf]reefer1.jpg[/attachment:1o1sxtqf]

[attachment=0:1o1sxtqf]reefer two.jpg[/attachment:1o1sxtqf]
    Have you registered your business yet?

http://www.ukcurtainmakers.co.uk

A MyDecozo Directory

Comment

Hi philip

Thanks for that.