Advice on making my first ever piped box cushion, please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on making my first ever piped box cushion, please

Hello, fabulous forum members. I'm looking for advice on making a piped box cushion, please. I've never done one before, so I've borrowed a couple of books from the library (by Heather Luke and Maureen Whitemore), searched this forum for information and looked at some YouTube tutorials. This research process has left me with some questions, so I hope I can pick your expert brains, please.

The project is to make a cushion for a small chair, using fabric left over from the curtains I've just made for the room. The chair was used by my husband's mother to nurse her babies, so it's of great sentimental importance, and I want to make a good job of the cushion. I've attached a picture of the seat of the chair. And here come my questions!

1. Ideally I'd like to follow the line of the chair's frame (ie the white-painted bit), which would mean all four sides of the cushion would be curved, and the back would have a stepped indent on each side to fit round the uprights of the chair back. Am I completely mad to contemplate this, when I've never done one before?

2. I've bought a piece of firm foam for the cushion (which will never be sat on - the chair is purely decorative). Do I need to cover the foam with fabric before making the cushion-cover? The fabrics I have available are left-over curtain linings: a blackout lining and a Merrick & Day cotton lining that has one side brushed. If I need to cover it, would one of these be suitable?

3. Should I cut the foam to the exact size of the chair and the fabric to the exact size of the foam, ie with no extra seam allowance? I've seen differing answers on this, and would like to be sure I'm getting it right, so the cushion looks firm and well-filled.