Trapezoidal bolster cushion cover

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trapezoidal bolster cushion cover

Hi, all, thanks for allowing me here. I'm a rank beginner in sewing, so please be gentle
    I've built an Arts and Crafts (Mission) loveseat/settee, and successfully upholstered the seats:

My problem is the backrest/bolster cushion. I special ordered it in fiberfill-covered foam, visible here:

My plan has been to construct the cushion cover as a typical bolster, namely a tube that will wrap around the cushion, with a zip on the bottom side, and two end pieces; I hope you can get that from this illustration:

I've gotten a lot of good from the videos and tips here (especially the videos about sewing on a zipper) and elsewhere, but I'd like to ask your advice about how to sew on the ends. I've never done this before and I don't want to muck it up. I can basically use a machine for straight stiching. My guess is that I should proceed as follows: 1) sew on the zipper to create a tube; 2) turn the tube inside out through the zipper opening and pin on the end pieces with the outsides facing in (face-to-face), then just go around the shape and sew them on. My real concern is about the corners where the trapezoidal shape changes direction 90 degrees (or whatever). Should I clip the corners in some way to ease the bends? Are there any good video tutorials showing in detail how to sew these end pieces on? I've searched and watched lots of videos, but haven't found the one to make me feel I really understand the process.

Thanks for any and all advice. If you respond, please remember I'm a real beginner, so I may not understand specialized terminology or procedures without a lot of detail.

Re: Trapezoidal bolster cushion cover

Hi Norm,