Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tension wires

Hi All

I have no experience of tension wires but have a customer with a room 6.6m long, one side of which is entirely windows. I suggested tracked poles or a metropole but this is rather more money than she wanted to spend. Would it be possible to get that span with a tension wire having just one central support? I haven't checked out the weight of the fabric she is thinking of for the curtains but it is Colefax and Fowler Perseus and, being viscose/linen, is possibly going to be quite weighty. Does anyone know where I can source tension wires and possibly talk through with the supplier? My fitter has fitted them before but does't know where they came from...

Thanks
    Annie

Re: Tension wires

I think any decent system capable of supporting medium/heavy curtains is not going to be cheap.
    Tracksandpoles have tension systems but I haven't used them.

Would she consider a discrete ceiling fix track or something like Cameron Fuller System 30?
    Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment

I have used them in the past but only for lightweight fabric/voiles.
      I agree with Louise that to cover that span with anything have a bit of weight is going to have to be very well fixed as it would need a fair amount of tension to avoid any sag.
      John Quine
      Brooke Design
      Fylde Coast

Comment

Thanks everyone for your input.

I had a look at Tracksandpoles. There is probably a reason their max length is 5m. I will contact them but think that the curtains are probably going to be too heavy.

Thanks again
        Annie,

Comment

I think a track will be the least pricey option for 6m of curtains......perhaps the Evans DS which can be ceiling fixed and is pretty shallow.
          Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment

For future reference - Hunter Hyland have a choice of tensioned wire systems, but clearly stated as for lightweight curtains.
            Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment