Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Slip stitching the other edge?

Hi everyone,

As you know I'm new to interlined curtains, and I'm still beavering away at the first of my door curtains (my M.E. has been less good lately, so progress is pretty slow).

Having read up on the techniques involved I understand that the lining needs to be attached using slipstich, and that you should slipstitch up both sides of the curtain, from bottom to top.

I sew left-handed, and am currently slipstitching the side of the curtain which will hang on the right. I've got the curtain laid out lining-side-up on my "work table", and am trying to work out if I am being very dense - I'm sewing up from bottom to top, using my right hand - and making quite slow progress As I have several curtains to make, I thought I'd check on here if there is a cunning work-around, or if there is a perfectly simple way of using one's dominant hand for sewing both edges, or if all you professionals are just as good at sewing with both hands? I can sew right-handed, it just takes me four times as long!

Re: Slip stitching the other edge?

Hi Wibble puppy,
    I'm sure you must have read wrongly. You can't stitch both sides by hand from bottom to top because of the problem you are facing. I think what you read referred to machine stitching, where it would be preferable and easy to stitch bottom to top.

So on the far side, go top to bottom!

I'm left handed as well, all the best people are :P

Regards
    Pen
    Kind regards
    Pen Harrison
    Colly Brook Fine Furnishings

Comment