Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interlining ?

Hya,
    I've just spent the last couple of hours reading just about every thread on interlining(33 pages) & alas I didn't find my answer
    I want to know if you folks have a rule of thumb about which weight/type of interlining to use on which weight/type of fabric?

I have recently quoted (& got deposit on) curtains in Villa Nova Erin Flax/Cranberry. I have quoted using Evans 230gsm but on reflection wonder if this is too light...just realized I've made enough profit to raise my game so i can stop worrying about that

I have an online order to the above waiting this last few hours so if anyone is able please help asap
    Thanking you all in anticipation...

I have made window seats in this fabric before & posted the pics but they have dissapeared from the gallery...
    The pattern is from the VN Mya range & recommends blackout lining ....so perhaps a thicker interlining please help cos I am an absolute novice in the field of interlining
    Regards
    Mairi

Re: Interlining ?

Dear Maira.

Have you contacted Evans they may be able to guide you.

All I know is that when I buy my Interlining from the shops there is no choice of weight, Sarril, or domette are the only choice there is the domette after handling looks like peas could be strained through it.

As I only sew for a hobby and not very good with computers the big suppliers do not want to know so I do not have an account anywere.

I Would go with what you have already got or ordered after all the last thing you need is them standing up on their own.

Eileen.

Comment

Do you know why blackout is recommended? In the back of my mind I remember a posting something about the woven pattern showing through from the back of the fabric when the light shines through the window but I can't find it!!!!
      Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment

Dear Louise