Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Using lining with selvedges to top and bottom???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using lining with selvedges to top and bottom???

I am making curtains for a neighbour and when she gave me the fabrics she said the girl in the shop has given her a wide width lining with the view of using it with the selvedges to the top and bottom instead of running up the side to avoid seaming two pieces together. As I have never done this before can anyone tell me if it affects the drape of the lining? Curtains are one and a half width of 54" fabric.

Re: Using lining with selvedges to top and bottom???

This is called 'railroading' the fabric.

If your lining is wide enough, once hems and top turning have been allowed for, go ahead.

I'm sure it must affect the drape to some degree.

Warp and weft threads may be slightly different in thickness but I have never found any problems.

Last week I made black out, interlined curtains, finished length of 48" and railroaded the lining and interlining without hesitation.

Comment

I tried this with cotton sateen once when making a roman with the rod channels stitched in the lining - it was a nightmare. I could not seem to keep the channels smooth or parallel. I find it works fine with blackout lining.

I have done it successfully with small curtains though.
      Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment

I have railroaded / 3 pass black out lining without turning a hem on my lower end curtains - This is my confession for the day!
        Have you registered your business yet?

http://www.ukcurtainmakers.co.uk

A MyDecozo Directory

Comment

Hi philip, thats a brave confession, did the client notice? or were you
          Helen

Comment

No, not a word said, they had a perfect straight edge and draped very well.
            Have you registered your business yet?

http://www.ukcurtainmakers.co.uk

A MyDecozo Directory

Comment