Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shortening pinch pleat curtains

Hello
    I am trying to work out how long it will take me to bring up the hem of handmade interlined curtains. Normally I would take of the header tape and go from the top but these are triple pleat curtains so that isnt possible. They are one and a half widths each , I am very new to this as a business and always end up under estimating the length of time things take!

I've just looked online and prices from cleaners'shops that do clothing and curtain alterations seem to quote at around £12/15 per metre for a lined curtain.

In your case - interlined and pinch pleat I would start at 50% of your per width making charge and see how that price looks. Don't underestimate how long it will take you to lay out each panel and measure carefully to keep it all level.
    Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment

I agree with Louise re pricing, I usually charge half make up price and add a bit more as they are interlined. I would clamp the top across my table straight and measure the new drop from the spaces down and pin and go from there. either add on the hem allowance at that stage or turn the whole lot over and work from the pins. Its going to take more time that you think, so be sure that you don't undercut yourself, its complicated!! Good luck, we have all taken on a job such as this and regretted it...….its a learning curve. Might be an idea to make a note of how long it takes for future reference.

Comment

PS - don't assume the current curtains are 100% straight......it might seem tempting to measure the new drop once then work up from the bottom but personal experience (!) taught me to always measure at multiple points from the top down.
        Louise

sigpic Simply Sewing

Comment