Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Just how long does it take.............?????????????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just how long does it take.............?????????????

How many man/woman hours does it take to make a pair of lined, inverted pleat curtains (120cms x 110cms)

I seem to be taking ages, (although I can't do it full-time with family commitments, about two - three hours a day) but I started cutting Saturday week ago and I still haven't finished the first curtain yet, yet alone a pair, a few silly mistakes on the way, (scorched the lining, didn't get a straight line on face fabric etc.,) and I have two sets of full length and one sill length still to do before the New Years Eve party.

I know I'm a novice but this seems a ridiculous amount of time to take. Did anyone else have this trouble at the beginning of their curtain career?

J

Re: Just how long does it take.............?????????????

Hi Joan
    Don't be so hard on yourself. If you are new to curtain making then it will take as long as it takes until you are familar with the contruction and techniques that suit you best. Only doing a couple of hours at a time must be very frustrating because by the time you have got into the swing of it I would imagine it's time to stop. Then you have to remember where you got to the last time when you start again. Just enjoy it and when you start the next project you will be a bit quicker.
    I've probably been no help at all have I but I do remember that when I first started curtain making it used to take me forever to finish anything.
    I guess it just takes practise like everything in life.............
    Kindest Regards

Penny

Denton Drapes

Comment

Yes, Penny is right...it takes as long as it takes!